State law

Nevada: Beneficiary Disputes and Interpleader Under Nevada Law

Before 2011, a divorce in Nevada did not affect a former spouse's life insurance designation. NRS 111.781 reversed that rule, and a 2015 amendment applies it to any death on or after October 1, 2011, whenever the divorce occurred. A former spouse can still be restored after the divorce, but only by a new designation that is clear.

On this page
  1. Retroactive by design
  2. Restoring a former spouse after the divorce
  3. What the insurer recovers
  4. Decisions
  5. Elsewhere on this site
  6. Related guides

Retroactive by design

As both decisions below recount, the old Nevada rule was that “the rights of the beneficiary in an ordinary life insurance policy [were] not affected by subsequent divorce.” The legislature reversed that in 2011 with NRS 111.781. Unless otherwise provided “by the express terms of a governing instrument, a court order or a contract relating to the division of the marital estate,” a divorce revokes a revocable disposition to the former spouse. A decree of separation that does not end the marriage is not a divorce for this purpose.1

The 2015 amendment added the clause that makes Nevada unusual: the statute “applies only to nonprobate transfers which become effective because of the death of a person on or after October 1, 2011, regardless of when the divorce or annulment occurred.”1

In Ruckman, the couple divorced in January 2010, and the decree said nothing about the $200,000 policy. The former wife argued that the statute did not apply because it was enacted after her divorce. The insured’s daughter filed an affidavit saying he wanted her to have the money. The court held that the statute “applies retroactively to revoke [her] status as beneficiary under the life insurance policy. This is so regardless of when the underlying divorce took place.” With no other beneficiary named, the deposit of $212,959.93 went to the estate.2

Restoring a former spouse after the divorce

Revocation is not permanent. In Aguilar, the insured divorced in October 2017. In December he wrote to the insurer to “delete the entire Spouse Rider” covering his former wife, while asking to “keep all my other policy details (term, plan type, classification, rating) the same.” He died the next year. His former wife said that letter kept her as beneficiary, and his estate said it did not.3

Judge Dorsey’s analysis had three steps:

  1. The divorce revoked the designation. A reissued policy with the same number and terms was a continuation, not a new policy, so the revocation carried through.
  2. The letter was not a “governing instrument.” Under the statute, a governing instrument must be “executed by a divorced person before the divorce or annulment of the person’s marriage to the person’s former spouse.” A letter sent after the divorce does not qualify.1
  3. The letter could still change the policy, but its meaning was unclear. The letter was signed and accepted by the insurer, so it substantially complied with the policy’s change procedure. But “a request to remove a spouse rider and permit conversion to an independent policy does not meaningfully affect a beneficiary designation.” Whether “keep all my other policy details” meant restoring the former wife was a disputed question of intent.

Both summary judgment motions were denied, and the case was referred for a settlement conference.3

What the insurer recovers

Nevada federal courts award interpleader fees in their discretion, and the local rules require detailed support. In Ruckman, the insurer sought about $25,000 with an affidavit listing hours and rates. The court denied the request entirely because it did not address the Local Rule 54-14 factors: “Without more, the court is unable to determine an appropriate award of fees and costs.” In Aguilar, the unopposed request was trimmed for costs the local rules disallow, and $11,294.12 was awarded.23 See attorney’s fees in interpleader.

Decisions

Genworth Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v. Ruckman (D. Nev. 2019)

  • No. 2:18-cv-1470-JCM-VCF, ECF No. 66
  • Judge James C. Mahan
  • Decided Nov. 22, 2019
Facts
The insured's former wife remained named on a $200,000 policy after a 2010 divorce decree that did not mention it. She claimed the proceeds; the estate defaulted.
Holding
NRS 111.781 applied retroactively and revoked her designation; the proceeds went to the estate. The insurer was discharged, but its fee motion was denied.
Why it matters
For deaths on or after October 1, 2011, the date of the divorce does not matter. A defaulting estate can still take the fund when the law gives it the proceeds.

Opinion: court filing via CourtListener (PDF).

Primerica Life Ins. Co. v. Aguilar (D. Nev. 2021)

  • No. 2:20-cv-00121-JAD-BNW
  • Judge Jennifer A. Dorsey
  • Decided June 9, 2021
Facts
After his 2017 divorce, the insured asked the insurer to delete his former wife's spouse rider but keep "all my other policy details" the same. His estate, joined by a funeral-funding assignee, and his former wife each claimed the proceeds.
Holding
The divorce revoked her designation, and the post-divorce letter was not a governing instrument. Whether the letter re-designated her was a disputed question of intent, so both summary judgment motions were denied. The insurer was awarded $11,294.12.
Why it matters
A former spouse can be restored after a Nevada divorce, but only by a clear change made under the policy's procedure.

Opinion: court filing via CourtListener (PDF).

Elsewhere on this site

Footnotes

  1. Nev. Rev. Stat. § 111.781(1), (10), (11)(b), (11)(d). Nevada Legislature. ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  2. Genworth Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v. Ruckman, No. 2:18-cv-1470-JCM-VCF, order at 1–2, 7–10 (D. Nev. Nov. 22, 2019), ECF No. 66 (quoting Redd v. Brooke, 604 P.2d 360, 361 (Nev. 1980)). Court filing (PDF). ↩ ↩2

  3. Primerica Life Ins. Co. v. Aguilar, No. 2:20-cv-00121-JAD-BNW, order denying cross-motions for summary judgment and granting plaintiff’s motion for attorneys’ fees at 3, 8–16 (D. Nev. June 9, 2021), ECF No. 57. Court filing (PDF). ↩ ↩2 ↩3